The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

Peasmarsh Flying Start Pre-School works within the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) which enables us to offer diverse opportunities for learning and having fun, both inside and outdoors.

The EYFS is a framework set out by the Government which sets standards for the learning, development and care of children up to the age of five. Please click here for more information from the Gov.UK website. Early years learning concentrates on three prime areas of learning and four specific areas of learning. The three prime areas are:

  • communication and language;
  • physical development; and
  • personal, social and emotional development.

these begin to develop quickly in response to relationships and experiences, and run through and support learning in all other areas. These three prime areas are fundamental to Early Years education.

The specific areas of learning comprise essential skills and knowledge which allow children to participate successfully in society. They grow out of the prime areas. The four specific areas of learning are:

  • literacy;
  • mathematics;
  • understanding the world; and
  • expressive arts and design.

We know that the ways in which a child engages with other people and their environment – playing and exploring, active learning, and creating and thinking critically – underpin learning and development across all seven areas and help the child to remain an effective and motivated learner. Consequently, teaching is often done through play, where the child learns about subjects through their own interests. Please click here to read more about how we support learning and development for each child.

Children make good progress and form close relationships with staff. The staff team knows the children well, and plans to meet their individual needs and extend their learning opportunities effectively.” Ofsted, 2015.